The Hunger Games

I recently read great reviews of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, so when I saw the book was only $4 on Amazon, I decided to give it a whirl.

The Hunger Games Suzanne Collins

One thing is for sure… I am not ready for this book to be over.

This book isn’t good because it is beautifully written or rich with thought provoking dialogue. Instead it one of the most engaging, exciting, original story lines I think I have ever read. It is SO different than I was expecting. I purposefully did not read any reviews that gave away the plot at all. I wanted to go into reading it having no idea what it is about. I am actually really glad I did. 375 pages seemed to turn themselves.

For those of you that want to know a little more about it, continue reading.

This story takes place in a nation called Panem. Panem, the Capitol, is surrounded by 12 districts that all excel in some specific trade. The main character, Katniss, resides in District 12. In order to keep all the districts in line, the Capitol forces one boy and one girl to enter the annual Hunger Games. Once each district chooses their boy and girl, the 24 children (ages 12-18) are forced to battle it out to the death on live TV.

Katniss finds herself thrown into the Hunger Games when she volunteers to take her 12 year old sister’s place. Before we know it, she just may have a chance to survive and win the Games. Throughout the story, we see her growth as a person, her desire to rebel, her fight to survive, and her naivety with love.

Quite honestly, this book ended before I was ready for it to. Luckily for all of us, this book is a series. After I go for my run today, I plan on going to Barnes and Nobel to pick up Catching Fire, the second book in the series, so I can read it on the plane tomorrow! It will take everything I have to refrain from reading it today. Goodness guys, it was SO good. Probably up there on my list of top 5 ever. No joke.

Another exciting thing is that they are in the process of turning this book into a movie as we speak! As long as they don’t butcher it, I can not wait to see it.

Jennifer Lawrence will be playing Katniss… she looks mighty fierce.
The Hunger Games Katniss

Liam Hemsworth will be playing Gale, Katniss’s closest friend… holy yum.
The Hunger Games Gale

Josh Hutcherson will be playing Peeta, the boy choice for the Hunger Games from district 12… not too shabby
The Hunger Games Peeta

I have a couple concerns… like Woody Harrelson playing Haymitch and Lenny Kravitz playing Cinna… but I will hold my reservations until I see them in action.

You should definitely go get this book and read it!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Hunger Games

  1. Thanks for commenting on my blog! I’m so glad you did!! Good luck this weekend!! I’m sure we are going to rock it!!! 🙂
    The Hunger Games is on my list to read too! I have no idea what it’s about either…I skipped your review just so I can read it with a clear mind like you did. 🙂

Leave a Reply

