Good Friends and Good Wine

Hubs and I had an absolutely fabulous weekend. We had lots of celebrating to do between me FINALLY getting a job and cousie D’s bday!

Friday night, hubs and I had reservations at our favorite restaurant… Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse!!

20110613-093506.jpg

Excuse the horrible lighting. Going to dinner gave me a great excuse to bust out the new clothes. ๐Ÿ™‚

Between my pear twist martinis (yes, that is plural), stuffed chicken breast, green beans, and Ruth’s chop salad, we left full and content.

Saturday we spent the day wine tasting in Woodinville, Washington. It’s only about 30 min away from where we live! Woodinville is home to Chateau Ste. Michelle wine which I’m sure many of you winos have heard of.

We hired a van to drive our tipsy booties around. We were told that they had an adapter so that we could listen to our iPhones but the driver couldn’t figure it out… Sooo he had us rock out to the beegees live in concert.

20110613-095424.jpg

It was kind of awesome and traumatizing all at the same time.

Our first stop was a place called Woodinville Whiskey. Yes, whiskey. Go big or go home.

20110613-094650.jpg

20110613-095906.jpg

The first round was Vodka. Not just vodka but sipping vodka! What the heck is sipping vodka?! For vodka it was surprisingly decent.

The next round was the whiskey. I can’t do whiskey. I think you have to have a beard, loafers, and a beer belly in order to do whiskey.

The second stop was a place called Delille Cellars. It was SO cute. We all surrounded a big table. A woman came around telling us about all the types of wine. Then we “sampled” them. The pours were HUGE! It was almost a full glass!

20110613-101216.jpg

The third stop was a place called Mark Ryan. This place had such a cool vibe. It was almost like a garage.

20110613-101537.jpg
[All the girls at Mark Ryan]

Mark Ryan himself was even there and he signed a bottle of dessert wine that I bought! He was SO nice.

20110613-102113.jpg

I don’t remember the name of our last stop but it was really cool too! One person that worked there was even from my small hometown in San Diego!! It was such a small world.

Last but not least, we all went to dinner at a place called Purple. It was delish!!

20110613-102756.jpg

After such busy days on Friday and Saturday, we definitely needed Sunday to unwind. Hubs and I just took it easy, cleaned house, and watched movies. It was the perfect way to end an awesome weekend.

Have you ever been wine tasting?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Good Friends and Good Wine

  1. I’ve been to a few wine tastings, but I don’t like wine much at all unless it’s SUPER sweet. So, I just take a sip, realize I don’t like it, and try the next one. There are only a handful of wines I can drink and usually I can’t have more than one glass without wanting to hit up a Bud Light Lime…which I know you’re a fan of!

    • Oh yes, bud light lime and I are BFFs! ๐Ÿ™‚ I always used to be the same way. I would ONLY drink sweet wine. I still tend to steer towards the sweet ones but the more I drink the more different types I like. Haha

  2. sam

    Your weekend sounds amazing!!!! We are always busy on the weekends too but thankfully you had that extra day to unwind!! I have never been wine tasting… not a fan of wine.. but looks like you had a blast!

    • Wine is like beer to me… The more I drink it, the more I like it. Even though you don’t like it, you should try wine tasting sometime! It is a great way to get the girls out together! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. What a fun time! I love that you guys hired a van to drive you around! Super cute outfit!

Leave a Reply

