Clydesdale?! WTF?!

Not gonna lie… I’m kinda peeved. I was just looking at a potential race and I saw something I have never seen before. A category for women who are 160+ pounds called the Clydesdale division. Clydesdale?! WTF?! So many things wrong with this.

20110805-101953.jpg

Yes, Clydesdale horses may be absolutely beautiful, but they are still HORSES!!! What are they trying to say? That any woman with a little weight to lose or any woman 5ft 9 inches and taller is as big as an oversized horse?!?! Awesome. Thanks running, for giving women one more thing to be self conscious about.

I did a little more research and apparently weight categories aren’t totally uncommon. There is another category for women between 140-160 pounds called Athena. Ok, now I am really pissed. If they are even saying that 140 is overweight, they are about to get my foot up their ass. Now I just have to figure out who “they” is.

In doing more reading, I found out that some races actually make you hop on a scale to prove your weight. I am already uncomfortable enough stepping on a scale in the comfort of my own home, thanks. I can’t believe how absurd this is.

20110805-104935.jpg

I don’t know whoever came up with a weight division, but it must have been a man. Only someone with nuts could be so insensitive to women.

Have you ever heard of the Clydesdale division?

Would you be pissed if you had to hop on a scale before a race?

Would you enter a race in the Clydesdale division if it meant you had a better chance at placing in your division?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Clydesdale?! WTF?!

  1. Interesting. I’ve never knew that existed. If I liked the race enough, I’d weigh for it. As long as they don’t put your weight on your bib, that is. Or that I’m a horse.

  2. I have seen the Athena/Clydesdale weight classifications for women/men respectively. I’ve never seen Clydesdale for women though. My husband and I have found it kinda ridiculous since he is 6’2 and only needs to add on maybe 10 lbs to qualify as a Clydesdale. He is not a big guy. I’m not sure why there is a need for those ‘divisions’. I don’t know if it is supposed to imply since I’ve seen plenty of people who are not zero-fat athletes do great at races and beat lots of the skinny minis.

    • Totally!!! I definitely have some weight to lose, but way bigger people FLY by me in races ALL the time! The race I was looking at had “Clydesdale” for women and “military” for guys 200+ pounds. I can understand trying to motivate people, but they could have at least picked better names! Haha

Leave a Reply

