Discovery Park

I have so much to share with you from this weekend. It was UH-MAZING. From a princess party to new hiking trails, it was full of good times. I thought I’d start with our adventures at Discovery Park.

Hubs surprised me on Saturday night with a fabulous idea. He heard about a place called Discovery Park and wanted to go check it out. It was going to be 80 degrees outside. OF COURSE I would go anywhere that involved the sun!

It was beautiful.

We walked along this trail that actually has a 2.8 mile loop around the whole park. We didn’t follow the loop all the way. Just far enough to get to a new trail that would lead us to a lighthouse!

20110829-090003.jpg

It was an absolutely beautiful day. Once we got to the “beach” where the lighthouse was, hubs and I brought out our inner 7 year olds by skipping rocks in the water. I seriously have not done that in years! It was SO fun. We also collected a few really cool rocks to bring home as a souvenir.

20110829-090235.jpg

After we were done with our adventure, we headed back along the trails to get back to our car. I couldn’t believe how green and beautiful it was. The scenery definitely helped me get over the fact that my legs were on fire from walking up a huge hill!

20110829-090543.jpg

I definitely want to cone back again. I am guessing it was about a 3 mile round trip hike. Not too far, not too short. The scenery definitely made it though!

20110829-090717.jpg

If you are ever in Seattle and are looking for something less touristy to do that is FREE, I definitely recommend checking out Discovery Park. Make sure to bring your camera! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

