Seattle Half Marathon Training: Week 1

Soooo I just realized that I never told you guys…

Seattle Marathon Registration

I officially registered for the Seattle Half Marathon that is in 6 weeks!!!!

AND on top of the freaking exciting news, my mother in law decided she wants to fly up and run it with me!

AFC 5K

She has been my motivator and one of my running buddies from the very beginning of my running journey. She tried FOR YEARS to get me to run with her (she has been running marathons for forever) and I refused. Now look at me! I am about to run my 3rd half marathon. Who woulda thunk it?!

Well, week 1 of my training plan is COMPLETE! Holy guacamole the week went by fast. I am very pleased to announced that I did not miss a single workout! Not even my cross training days, which are way too easy to skip. This is huge in the land of SkippingInSeattle.

Week 1 half marathon training plan

Green is good people, green is GOOD!

On top of not missing a single workout, my 8 miler on Saturday was flipping amazing!!!! I ended up finishing it about 7 minutes faster than I normally run 8 miles. How ’bout dem apples?!

8 miles in 1:29:41 (11:13 pace) – THAT IS HUGE FOR ME! Normally I do my long runs at about a 12 minute pace. My legs just really were not happy going slower. Week 1 was a complete and total success.

Today is a rest day. I never have a problem missing a rest day. In fact, I welcome them with open arms. Me and rest days are BFFs. We have sleepovers and braid each others hair. It’s true.

************************************

DON’T FORGET to sign up for the RnR Seattle today or tomorrow!!!! Huge price break if you do!

I will be signing up as soon as I get home from work. That means that I will be signed up for TWO half marys at the same time. Oh, and did I mention that I need to sign up for ANOTHER one by 10/28 before the price increase. In case math isn’t your best subject, that makes THREE half marys! Oh yes, I’ve definitely got the fever.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Seattle Half Marathon Training: Week 1

  1. I ran the Seattle half last year–it’s a nice course. I was supposed to try the full this year but that’s out.

    There are a number of girls from out of town planning on doing the RnR here next year:

    Meg from http://www.watchmegorun.com
    Erika from http://www.thisspartanwill.blogspot.com
    Megan from http://www.ontheroadagainmegan.com
    Adrian from http://www.happygirlsaretheprettiestgirls.com

    It’s going to be a party!!

    • Dang! There are a lot of people running!! I am going to have to check out their blogs and say hello! I definitely see a bloggy meetup in our future! How fun! I just love how Seattle has such a great running community.

  2. So glad that you had a great training week! Your training almost makes me want to run another half, but living in Alberta means it’s about to get snowy and cold really soon which equals no races ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • I can’t believe winter is already just around the corner. From what I hear, it doesn’t snow that often in Seattle, but last year in November it snowed a ton! That could potentially mean my half could be in the snow! Oh my goodness, I would have no idea what to do with myself. Don’t worry though, spring will be here before you know it! Then there will be lots of races for you! INCLUDING a full mary! AHHHHH! SO exciting!

  3. *Your* husband works at Amazon? Mine too ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Ah that is amazing! I’ve been totally slacking due to moving – give me advice where are some good places to run in Seattle/Kirkland areas!?

    • Don’t worry girl! I totally slacked too when we were in the middle of moving. You’ll get back into the swing of things! I don’t know much about Kirkland, but downtown Seattle waterfront is a beautiful place to run. Or Greenlake just north of Seattle! Or A personal favorite of mine, Alki in West Seattle! There is water everywhere which always makes a run a bajillion times better!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Thanks for contacting me via my blog! So excited to have another blogger to meet when we move to Seattle! And I’m signed up for RNR in June too! If I’m out there in time, maybe I’ll do the one this fall with you too ๐Ÿ™‚ My husband is working for Amazon as well – will be out there on the 11th but not sure when I’ll get there to join him. Can’t wait to meet you!!!

    • Yay!! I’m so excited to meet you too! You are going to love it out here. I am SO excited for the RnR. We need to have a big ol bloggy meetup for it! If there is anything I can help you with, let me know! We just went through it all about 7 months ago so it’s still super fresh in my mind. Good luck with everything girlie. This is such a big move, but it’s gonna be a great one!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Sabrina

    Have you ever thought about joining a running group? I’m part of the Greenlake running group and they’ve got a group of people who are specifically training for the Seattle half, so it’s very motivating! I still haven’t decided if I’m going to do it yet. Email me if you want the contact info for the running group – we’re great people!

    • I definitely have! I live in West Seattle, so I was thinking about doing the West Seattle group but I think it’s pretty small. I am a slow runner so I just want to make sure there are other people at my pace! Haha I’d love to check out your group! I’ll send you an email! Thanks so much!!

Leave a Reply

