Seattle Half Marathon Training: Week 5

Sorry for the late post today. I had almost the whole post written on my app on my phone (where I do 99% of my blogging) and it crashed on me and I lost it all. Awesome.

Anyways…

Week 5 of my half marathon training is OVER! I can’t believe it. It is flying by. Unfortunately this week was less than stellar. Remember that post where I talked about the curse of the 12 miler? Oh ya, well, it struck again. I don’t even have a good excuse for it this time. I just had zero motivation for my run.

I intended on running it on Friday after work. Well, when I had to go home early because I was sick, that was out of the question. I was having some super annoying stomach issues that would not go away. So, Saturday was going to have to be the day…

Saturday came and my desire to run never followed. All day long I was trying to suck it up and find some motivation somewhere, but I was just SO over it. I finally laced up my shoes and hit the pavement. 4.5 miles later, I was DONE. Hey it’s better than nothing.

I only had one completely bonked long run this training cycle. That is way better than in the past, so I’ll take it. Glass is half full, right?

Tuesday: Cross Training
Wednesday: 4 miles
Thursday: Rest
Friday: Sick
Saturday: 4.5 miles
Sunday: 2 miles

Total for week 5: 10.5 miles. Yikes.

Taper timeeee!

This week is going to be interesting when it comes to getting my workouts in. Crazy C comes Friday morning and leaves Sunday night. That means no running this weekend at all. Plus, I have midnight showing of Breaking Dawn Part 1 ( oh hell yeah! ) on Thursday night. That pretty much means I’ll just run whenever I get a freaking chance.

Trust in my training, right?

P.S. SNOW in the forecast for this weekend!!! Hide yo kids, hide yo wife… This Southern Californian is gonna be on the snowy roads!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Seattle Half Marathon Training: Week 5

  1. Hahah the last line made me laugh so hard! Have you ever driven in snow before? It’s fun….or not.

  2. You should see if you can take a winter driving course. That might help and make you more comfortable 🙂 It’s supposed to be -16C here tomorrow…it’s cold!

Leave a Reply

