I just ran a half marathon, now what?

Typically after I run a half, I go on a total hiatus from running. I have even gone three weeks without lacing up my Mizunos. I think I just get completely exhausted after all the training that I desperately want a break. Understandable, but the major flaw with that plan is that IT IS A BITCH TO RUN AFTER THREE WEEKS OF NOT RUNNING.

It is amazing just how fast you can lose your stamina and endurance.

In typical Skipping in Seattle fashion, I still have not ran since the Seattle half. Yes, I was sore for about 4 days and yes, I took off to Vegas right after… but really those aren’t good excuses. Today it dawned on me while in the middle of fixing some buggy code at work (10 nerd points if that made any sense to you), I need to start over. Completely, 100% start over.

Hear me out.

I take walk breaks when I run long distances. I am not ashamed to admit it. There is no harm in taking a walk break. I am ready though, to take FEWER walk breaks when I run. On top of that, I want to run faster (SHOCKER!). In order to run faster in races I need to run faster in training (once again, SHOCKER!). I also feel like running faster, and then walking a lot cancel each other out to where I am just able to run slow. THIS is what I want to change.

Back when I started running, I always made it a goal to see how far I could go without stopping. When I got to 4 miles, then I knew I was ready for a 5K. When I started training for my half marathons, that kind of went out the window. It was all about just getting the miles in no matter what form they came in. Before, it was kind of like a game to me, and I could really see myself progressing. Each week I would be able to go a little further without stopping. I would hit some milestone like 2, 3 and 4 miles and be so proud of myself. Now, I think I am kind of just stuck in a rut.

Yes, I get speedwork in, but I don’t see the results when I need to walk all the time. I have decided to go back to what I did before only now, do it faster. Instead of working my way up to 3 miles at a 12 minute pace, I want to work my way up to 3 miles at a 9-9:30 pace. Each time I run, I want to be able to go just a little bit further still keeping that pace until I am back to running longer distances… only this time, I will be faster and walk less.

There is no theory behind my plan other than it has worked for me before, but that is good enough for me!

 

Have you ever had to completely start over with running? Do you ever go on a running hiatus?

 

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “I just ran a half marathon, now what?

  1. I think you and I are in the same place right now. After my half on Sunday (which left me feeling… meh) I’m taking a break from distance. I’m doing crossfit and plan on sticking to 3 or 4 miles and working on speed all winter. I don’t want to take walk breaks anymore. I don’t want to be slow anymore. Then I’ll be ready to kick ass at RNR Seattle!

  2. It so pisses me off how it takes forever to build up and then if you stop for a week it’s gone. Game over start again- its like Mario but no freaking check points! I’m on a boycott right now im having an affair with my crossramp. I miss running but I miss being able to run 5 miles I don’t Wnt to start back a 1 agAin! I’m not Bryan McKnight damnit.

    In other words I feel ya.

    • SERIOUSLY, girl! Between Mario and Bryan McKnight, you hit the analogies on the head! hahaha The crossramp is great! I bet you aren’t as bad off as you think since you have been doing that! Me on the other hand… literally I have just been eating, drinking, and sitting on my ass. hahaha It will be interesting getting back on the bandwagon!

  3. Yup. Starting completely from scratch here. After running 3 halfs last year, I’m just starting to get back on my feet. I was able to do a run/walk combo on the mill to do a 17 minute mile. But I had great form the whole time and didn’t hurt the achilles.

    Btw, it’s snowing on your site…

    • A 17 minute mile is better than no mile at all! 🙂 we can motivate each other!! 🙂 isn’t the snow on my page fantastic?!?! Haha it makes me giddy every time I see it! Haha Let’s do a meet up after the holidays!!!

  4. Erika

    I hear ya and this time of year is super hard too. I took basically a year off when I was pregnant and it sucked getting back into it. But once I eased back with running, spinning and other exercise, I focused on my triathlon goals and went for it. And here I am, 2.5 years later faster and stronger than I ever have been and training for a full Ironman 🙂
    You can do it! As soon as I move there, I am happy to help you out too 🙂

Leave a Reply

