Let’s Talk Safety

Last nights workout:

Ran 1.29 miles in 13 minutes (10:05 pace)
Included a 2 minute warm up walk/jog and 11 minutes straight of running!! Woooo!
.13 mile cooldown in 2:00.
Biked 7.5 miles in 33 minutes.

For those of you that are new to my blog, I decided to start over with running in 2012. In 2011, I ran 3 half marathons and a bunch of 5k races, but I always felt so slow. There is nothing wrong with being slow. It helped me to be able to realistically set some huge goals for myself. But now, I am at a point with my running that I want to be faster. In order to do that, I decided to completely start over with running. I was not coached to do this and there is no proof of success behind my methods, but I think it’s working for me!

Last night I ran 11 minutes straight at around 6.3 mph. Annnd BOOM goes the dynamite.

Boom goes the dynamite

I decided to take it a little slower last night because my quads were a little sore from the previous nights ass kicking. I think that is definitely what helped me go strong for 11 minutes.

*************************************

I want to get kinda serious for a few minutes. I have been debating whether to do a post on this or not, but it has been so heavy on my heart that I decided I should just do it. Most of you who read my blog know that I do a lot of treadmill running. I got a treadmill back in the summer and I am kind of obsessed with it. We are BFFs and braid each others hair and everything. Hubs is a little jealous. I even trained for the Seattle half marathon solely on this baby.

No, but seriously…

There are many reasons why I use my treadmill. I typically run late at night during the week. We are talking like 10 pm. I am not about to run outside during that time. Also, I don’t know if you know this or not but it rains a lot in Seattle. I don’t do squishy shoes. But most importantly, running on Betty makes me feel safe.

I am sure by now you have all heard about SUAR’s cousin who was so tragically abducted while going for a run very recently. It is a sick effing world out there. All she was doing was going out to enjoy what so many of us love to do every day. And just like that, she is gone. My heart absolutely breaks for Beth and her entire family as they try to cope with this tragedy.

I don’t mean to sound like a paranoid fool, but unless I am running with someone else outside, I have no desire to do it. Absolutely zero. I will take boring and safe over scenery and predators any day.

That being said, running outside can be an absolutely amazing thing if you take serious precautions.

  • Always let someone know exactly where you are going and when you will return.
  • Carry a cell phone so that if you injure yourself or if you decide to stay out later than originally planned you can notify people.
  • Strength in numbers. Find a running buddy/group and go with them. If you don’t have a running buddy or if you want another one and are in the Seattle-ish area, email me. I would love to meet you and join you for a run.
  • Run without music. I know it is boring, but it really helps you to be alert to your surroundings.
  • Do NOT share your location on any social media site. ESPECIALLY before or during a run. Yes, checking in is fun, but not being stalked by creepers is WAY more fun.
  • Trust your gut. There have been many times where I have simply changed my course or cut a run short because I headed to an area I didn’t feel comfortable with. If you don’t feel safe, you probably aren’t. Unfortunate truth.

I want us all to be able to go out and enjoy this sport that we all love. It absolutely sickens me that there are very real threats out there. I truly care about each one of you… from those who have been around since the beginning (Paula & Leigh) to those who stopped by for a quick minute when they searched for Skipping Naked (I only do that behind closed doors… and at Bar Mitzvahs). Please be safe out there.

 

What other safety tips do you have?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Let’s Talk Safety

  1. Leigh

    Great post…so sad to hear about SUAR’s cousin and her death. Just gives me the chills even thinking about it. I usually run with my dog as of lately, so I don’t think about it too much. I probably should because he’s super friendly and would probably lick the person rather than save me, haha.

    ps- thanks for the shout out! I was happy that you started blogging again after you quit your last blog 🙂

  2. Great post, so sad about suar cousin. It’s definetly made me more aware of my surroundings while running alone.

  3. Holly

    After Chelsea King I became super paranoid. Super paranoid and pissed! And now I’m pissed allover again because of Sherry. I’ve been doing more time indoors on my treadmill. Which is not the way I prefer to run, but it beats getting attacked by some sick freak.

  4. Great post! Very timely and good for everyone to hear many times. I’m paranoid sometimes but not others and I need to be paranoid all the time. I often feel “safe” when running in my neighborhood but there’s plenty of crazies that live here too. Also – you’re getting faster! Way to go!

  5. Pingback: Important Safety Announcement | Skipping In Seattle

Leave a Reply

