First Race of 2012

Last nights workout:

2.78 miles in 29:00 (included 4 minute walk/jog warm up)
.14 mile cooldown 2:00

I was talking to my fab MIL the other day about running (she is the one who motivated me to start running in the first place). She mentioned that I should try intervals or fartleks on top of what I am already doing so that I don’t get bored with it. I totally agree. There is nothing boring about the word fartleks. I could fartlek all day long. I could fartlek in my sleep even. Okay, I am done being 10 years old. Fartlek.

fartlek

I decided to do some sort of form of intervals tonight. I will call them ladder intervals. I have no idea if that is a real thing or not, but it works for me. My workout looked like this.

Warm up 4 minutes (walk/jog)
Run 1 minute fast (6.5-6.7 mph)
Walk/jog 1 minute
Run 2 minutes fast (6.5-6.7 mph)
Walk/jog 2 minutes
Run 3 minutes fast (6.5-6.7 mph)
Walk/jog 3 minutes
Run 4 minutes fast (6.5-6.7 mph)
Walk/jog 4 minutes
Run 5 minutes really fast (6.7-7.2 mph)
Cooldown 2 minutes

Total of 2.78 miles in 29:00 (not including cooldown)

That last 5 minute fast run was brutal. I want to eventually be able to work my way back down the interval ladder, but 2.78 miles is much further than the 1.29 I have been running. I will take it!!

*************************************

In other news… I HAVE OFFICIALLY REGISTERED FOR MY FIRST RACE OF 2012. ANNNNND it just so happens to be in 2 weeks.

Valentines Day Dash

No, I don’t think I will totally be in 5k shape by the time the race comes, but I don’t really care. There will be plenty of other opportunities to PR this year. It will be fun no matter what. There are a bunch of Seattle peeps running it! I can’t wait to meet them IRL.

Let me know if you are running it! You can still register peeps!!!!

**************************************

This weekend should be pretty fun! We have hubs company holiday party on Saturday. Yes, they are late to the game with the holiday party. Better late than never! I am super excited for it. I plan on getting some solid workouts in this weekend too. Oh, ANDDD I would ideally like to finish the Pretty Little Liars series too.

I think hubs and I are getting 50/50 from Netflix too. I am so excited to watch this movie. I have heard great things about it.

What is the most recent movie you have watched?

Have a great weekend peeps!!! 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “First Race of 2012

  1. Yay for fartleks! And for race registrations! And for Friday! You will do great at the 5k, especially with this new speed work you’re throwing in! I’m interested in watching 50/50 too, though I think it’s going to be a sobfest.

  2. I laugh whenever I see fartleks. Who the hell came up with that? Yay for registering for the VDay Dash 5k!! Have you decided what you’re wearing? I’m trying to decide if red, pink and purple at the same time is overkill 😉

  3. Pingback: FroYo and New Friends | Skipping In Seattle

Leave a Reply

