Hunger Games Review

Ok, I swear this is the last time I will talk about HG for at least a couple days 😉

I would like to start by saying I LOVED THE MOVIE!!!

HOWEVER…

As I left the theater, I have to admit, I was slightly underwhelmed. I couldn’t figure out why. Then I got to thinking about it and I realized that I truly did love the movie. There were just a couple small changes that could have made it FANTASTIC.

1. Not casting Josh Hutcherson as Peeta. Unfortunately, my reservations about him playing such an important character were justified. I don’t feel like he ever really connected with the character. Either that or he is just a bad actor. I wanted to like him. I really did. He just did not do it for me. You are supposed to be rooting for Peeta, but instead he was just meh.

2. Go deeper into the Peeta/Katniss story. I understand it is a movie and they can’t fit everything in that is in the books but I feel as though they left out some extremely important character development between Katniss and Peeta. They went from zero to couple in about two seconds. If I did not read the books, I feel like I would have been wondering how the heck that happened. Also, if they would have gone deeper into this story, maybe I would have liked Josh Hutcherson more…

3. Show a little more gore. I get that the target audience is a young age, but I think they kept some parts a little too PG. Some fight scenes in the book were extremely graphic. Nothing in the movie was graphic at all. I understand why this one did not happen, but I think it would have enhanced the movie drastically.

All that said, I was blown away by Jennifer Lawrence’s acting. I did not expect so much emotion to be drawn during a few specific parts of the movie. Those parts moved me more than in the books and I believe that I all because of Jennifer Lawrence.

Also, I was extremely impressed with how true to the books the movie was. That never happens. I think it made for some very happy fans.

The more I think about it, the more I loved it. I plan on going and see it again with hubs. I absolutely believe it deserves all the records it is breaking. Yes, I thought it was that good. I am so happy for the success of the movie. I simply can not wait until the next one comes out!

P.S. I swear normal skipping in Seattle posts will be back tomorrow!! 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Hunger Games Review

  1. I agree with you that they needed to add more to the Peeta/Katniss story. In the book she spent so much time stressing about whether or not he was out to get her. It needed a little more of that. I liked him as Peeta though. And I cried throughout the entire beginning.

  2. Sam

    I agree completely. Peeta was a disappointment but Katniss was amazing!!! I loved that they stayed true to the book, I was surprised they did really. I also noticed they left some parts out but not huge ones.
    Great amazing movie!!!

  3. So funny! After my best friend and I saw the movie I told her THOSE EXACT THREE THINGS would have made it better. And I am not kidding. I was like, ok they showed Peeta throw Katniss some bread ONCE and I’m supposed to know they have some history?
    Totally agree about the Peeta roll too. Josh didn’t do it for me. He wasn’t horri-bad or anything, but there are a bunch of other actors that would have been better for the roll.
    Also, I told her that the way they filmed the movie (with less violence) made it seem like the arena wasn’t really that hard to survive. I think they needed the gore so you know how hard it was out there and how starving they were, etc.
    I also didn’t like how it just ended. That was a horrible ending for people who don’t read the books. Although, it didn’t happen this way in the books, I think they should have ended it with someone deciding that next year’s HGs would be previous winners. THAT would have been an awesome cliff hanger so you know it’s not over for Katniss/Peeta.
    But overall I did like it. I mean, it’s not gonna be perfect, right? And this is officially the longest comment I have ever written.

  4. I know Paula didn’t like Josh as Peeta either – but I think he was well cast. It’s interesting how the perception of a character in a book can differ so much! To me Gale had to hot– and Peeta had to be the “boy next door” and I think they nailed it in that respect. I do agree that they really sidelined the whole Katniss/Peeta relationship. I know we couldn’t get into Katniss’ head about what she was thinking about him (which really drives a lot of their story in the first book) so I think he ended up seeming like a long lost puppy dog and she ended up seeming like a bitch to him. Ahh well.

    I don’t understand why they didn’t keep the original ending. Unless that’s how they plan to introduce the 2nd movie? That’s probably my biggest complaint! Seriously CANNOT wait for the 2nd movie! Finnick better be HOT.

  5. So glad you liked it! Were other people dressed up too? What kind of costumes did you see? I also LOVED the movie. I’m going to blog about it too one of these days but I had similar issues, I thought they did a poor job developing Katniss/Peeta relationship and how much doubt you have at the beginning about whether Peeta is good or bad. I also didn’t like how Katniss got the mockingjay pin. It was weird what an incredibly small role Gale had in the movie, he had like 5 lines! Also, I hated when peeta’s hair was all gelled up – ew.

  6. So glad you liked it! Were other people dressed up too? What kind of costumes did you see? I also LOVED the movie. I’m going to blog about it too one of these days but I had similar issues, I thought they did a poor job developing Katniss/Peeta relationship and how much doubt you have at the beginning about whether Peeta is good or bad. I also didn’t like how Katniss got the mockingjay pin. It was weird what an incredibly small role Gale had in the movie, he had like 5 lines! Also, I hated when peeta’s hair was all gelled up – ew.

  7. Pingback: Movie Review Monday (Wednesday Edition) «

  8. Pingback: Movie Review Monday (Wednesday Edition) «

Leave a Reply

