RnR San Diego Training: Week 2

Last nights workout:

4 miles of hills on good ol Betty. 44:43 (11:11 pace)

********************************************************************

Last weeks training was less than stellar. It started out fantastic:

Monday: Rest
Tuesday: 3 miles
Wednesday: 3 miles
Thursday: 1 hour Hunger Games Spin Class
Friday: Rest

Then as soon as the weekend hit, the wheels fell off. I woke up Saturday and my body felt TIRED.

I have been pushing my body lately with faster speeds and more training than normal. This time last year I only had about 17 miles so far for the month of March. Instead, this year I have 37.67 miles under my belt. AND that does not include the biking I have done. I am hoping that the extra miles help me to be better prepared for the RnR SD. My mileage is still pretty low relative to other runners, but for me, I am definitely stepping up my game.

Anyways, I decided to listen to my body on Saturday and took a break. I figured I could get my 7 miles in on Sunday.

I figured WRONG.

Sunday, I started running and felt great for approximately 7 seconds. Then my stomach started bothering me, i.e. I farted. A lot. Yes, I said it. Then, I started feeling SUPER nauseous. I normally only get that way running if it is too hot or if I don’t take in enough calories while I run long distances. Considering I was only about .5 miles into my run at this point and it was 40 degrees outside, I don’t think either of those were the cause. In the end, I finished 3 sluggish slow miserable miles and called it a day.

I am glad I stopped because my stomach ended up continuing to bother me the rest of the night and the whole next day. It must have been something I ate. It is still early in my training, so missing one 7 mile run is not going to hinder my performance, but I would be lying if I said I wasn’t bummed about it. I was trying to have my first flawless training program. Oh well, there will be plenty more to come.

I can’t believe I’m already on week 3 of training. June will be here before I know it. Eeeeeek!!!

Did you run long this weekend?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “RnR San Diego Training: Week 2

  1. way to go on your training last week! Sorry about the weekend long run being cut short, I sooo know how that goes! Thanks for being candid about the farting and nausea too, I know I am not the only one who feels like that occasionally, but it’s nice to see it in writing from other runners đŸ™‚

  2. I HATE feeling nauseous while running, it happens to me way too often and totally ruins my run. I hope you’re all recovered! You will do great next weekend, don’t worry about last weekend!

  3. Woohoo! That is a WHOLE lot of miles. If I were you, I probably would have quit at mile 2. Running while nauseous is not my strong suit.

    Yes, I ran LONG this weekend. 11 miles on Saturday, and then I promptly succumbed to allergies. It was worse than a cold, and I even went to the Urgent Care for help. I was going to go for a bike ride on Sunday, but was so miserable I called it off and ended up staying home for Monday and part of Tuesday. So, 0 miles this week. Oops. Hoping to get some in at the end of the week now that I’m starting to get better.

  4. June will be here before we know it!! Sheesh. It’s April already this weekend.. How’d that happen? Sorry your day of training was crummy! Hope you’re feeling better!!

  5. Sorry about the bum 7 miler, but good job listening to your body!

Leave a Reply

