RnR SD Training: Week 6

Tonights workout:
Ran 4 miles ( including 3×1 mile repeats that were all in the 9’s pace!)
Biked 1 mile in 4:58 – nice and easy cool down from my run

******************************************

Another week is down in my half marathon training. Last week was less than stellar but I am already redeeming myself this week. There is no more time to waste with the race around the corner! Here’s how my training went down last week:

Monday: Rest
Tuesday: 4 miles including 3×1 mile repeats
Wednesday: Ab work for cross training
Thursday: Rest
Friday: Rest
Saturday: Rest
Sunday: 6.11 mile long run

What’s with all those rest days, you might ask? Last week was an insane week at work that left me with a massive tension headache for several days straight. When I get tension headaches, Advil does NOT help. I even had to work from home on Friday because it was so bad. Ick.

Anyways, it was absolutely BEAUTIFUL in Seattle this weekend. 70s and sunny skies. GORG!!

20120424-210706.jpg

[Hubs and I at the space needle 50th anniversary!]

I decided to start my long run as late as possible on Sunday, because that would be when it is the hottest out. No, I am not a masochist. I just wanted to get the conditions to closely resemble RnR San Diego. Last year it was HOT at mile 8. Spectators were even handing out ice! So, I felt like I needed a hot long run.

One thing is for sure, I have officially acclimated to Seattle temps!

20120424-211424.jpg

It was 73 degrees out and holy hell that was the hardest run ever. I was dyingggg and I was going SO slowww! I purposefully ran hills, which didn’t make it any easier. I got 6.11 miles down and called it quits. Brutal.

Anyways, another week down! Almost there!!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “RnR SD Training: Week 6

  1. I went out around 12:30 for my long run on Sunday. It wasn’t my most brilliant moment 🙂 But it was beautiful out! Glad you got rid of that nasty headache!

  2. It all looks gorgeous in Seattle!! The weather sounds amazing! Our weather here is bipolar this week, 80 yesterday, overcast today, rain tomorrow!

  3. Nice week of training! You are so smart, I would probably never make myself run in bad conditions like that even when it’s needed! You are going to ROCK San Diego!

Leave a Reply

