The PR That Wasn’t – West Seattle 5k Race Recap

Well, guys… Sunday didn’t quite turn out how I had planned. Before I get to that, I’ll start from the beginning.

I woke up at about 7 am on Sunday morning (amazing for race day) and made my way downstairs to force some oatmeal down my throat. I was so incredibly excited for this race. I got dressed in my Team Sparkle skirt, Run Pretty Far arm warmers and Fit Approach tank top. Then, it was time to head out.

20120522-211900.jpg

I parked my car and ran a little warm up to the start. I was only a quarter mile away, so it was a little baby warm up but I just wanted to get a feel for my legs. They felt GREAT. I picked up my race bib, attached it to my shirt, checked my bags and spent the next half hour people watching.

20120522-212042.jpg

About 10 minutes before the start, I headed to the start line. Right on time, they counted down, and we were off!

I took off running and felt amazing! People on the sides were yelling “GO TUTU” and it pumped me up even more. I kept running with a goofy grin on my face. Next thing I know, I look down at my Garmin… 8:30 mile pace?!!? WTF?! I don’t run this fast!! I needed to pull it back in a BIG way. I hit mile 1 at 9:54. Perfect. Exactly the pace I was looking for.

20120522-211943.jpg

I kept running with the hope that I didn’t screw up my race with being so eager the first half mile, but I quickly discovered that I just wasn’t going to be able to hang in there. By mile 1.5 my legs were on fire. Not “oh yeah, feel the burn” fire. More like “WTF was I thinking, make it STOP” fire. I kept trying to push, but I just knew it wasn’t going to happen. I was BEAT and still had half a race to finish. I hit mile 2 at something like 11:14. Yikes.

THEN, I had to WALK. Yes, I said walk. I had to walk in a freaking 5k. What the eff is that nonsense? I walk in half marathons, not 5ks! Right after I took my walk break, my head just wasn’t in it anymore. I was pissed at myself for being so stupid at the beginning. I slowly kept dragging along. Eventually, I made my way across the finish line in 33:58 (official time). Almost a full 3 minutes off of what I was aiming for.

It is funny though… even though this race wasn’t what I was hoping for, I absolutely loved it. It is a beautiful, FLAT course. It is ran extremely well. Everything was extremely smooth and efficient. They even have after race entertainment if you stick around. It was raining quite a bit after the race, so I bailed after I grabbed some snacks. I’d love to stay next year though.

I highly recommend this race for anyone looking for a 5k course to PR on. It ABSOLUTELY had PR potential. In fact, it holds my current PR. I will get you next time 31:16. I know I can beat you. I KNOW I HAVE A PR IN ME.

34 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

34 responses to “The PR That Wasn’t – West Seattle 5k Race Recap

  1. You do have a PR in you!!!! Don’t get too bummed out about your race, at least you looked cute and had fun. πŸ™‚

  2. My general technique for PRs is simple…only run one race of each distance and you’re sure to PR every time! Not funny? Oh. I’m sorry the race didn’t go like you planned, but I’m glad you enjoyed the course. Next one will be your PR!!!

  3. You got the next one for sure!! I will race with you if you want πŸ™‚

  4. You looked SO cute, I love your outfit! I looked EVERYWHERE for my sweet arm warmers for this weekend but I have no clue where I decided to “store” them after I got home from the meet-up! I’m an idiot. You will sub 30 next time for sure! Let’s pick a 5k to do! PS – I feel your pain. Not getting PR’s when you’re trying sucks.

  5. So, so, so cute! I’m sorry you had such a bad race. Since Nicole has offered to pace me to my half-marathon goal, I will offer to pace you to your 5K goal. Let me know! I’m absolutely serious!

    Seward Park might be a great place for another attempt. They have 5Ks there all the time and it seems pretty flat.

  6. I’m sorry 😦 it’s such a bummer when you try so hard for a PR and don’t get it. I think 5ks are tricky. One false move and it can screw up the whole race. I have no doubt you’ll be getting a shiny new PR soon though! Love the race outfit, you look great!

  7. The good thing is there is ALWAYS another race. And it’s important that you loved it anyway. Plus, you look adorbs in that picture and super skinny so who cares what you’re time was? You looked hot!

  8. Sorry you didn’t hit your goal time. Looks like a great race:) I will have to try it sometime!

  9. IMHO the 5k is one of the hardest to PR…you have to GO from the start and there isn’t any room for error.

    That said, not every race can be a PR…I’ve had to beat that into my freaking stubborn head. It’s disappointing and sucks, but what can you do? I know someone else offered to pace you to a sub-30 but if they aren’t free for your next 5k I’d love to do it too. πŸ™‚

    I was thinking Seward Park would be an awesome PR course too (ran the Girls on the Run 5k there last weekend). A couple of small hills but otherwise flat.

  10. I’m glad that you have such a good attitude about it! You looked super cute as well. Sorry it didn’t work out this time.

  11. runforwine

    The good news is 5k’s are everywhere! You can pick up where you left of in a few weeks! Rookie mistake (going out too fast) but it’s happened to EVERYONE! Glad you had a good time despite the walking.

  12. but you looked so cute! you got a CR! cute racer!

  13. Aww, that stinks. I’m like that too. But at least you finished and had a great time in the end. It seems like it was a beautiful course.

  14. That WAS a speedy start!! Bummer you had a rough finish 😦 You still looked really cute!

  15. I’ve done that before where I’ve gone out wayyy too fast for me and then regretted it later. Thank God for GPS watches though, mine always helps me catch myself when I’m running too fast of a pace.

    LOVED your race outfit πŸ™‚

  16. Pingback: Oh, hey there June. | Skipping In Seattle

Leave a Reply

