Ragnar Recap Part 1: Creepers, Camera Whores, and Compression. Oh My!

Yes, the recaps will be broken up into many parts because one post would never encapsulate the awesomeness that was this race.

For those of you just tuning in, the Ragnar Relay is a relay race that covers around 200 miles in about 30 hours. Nuun sponsored me and nine other bloggers for this race. The ten of us were joined by 2 Nuun employees who ran with us and 2 Nuun employees who drove us. Six runners started us off in Blaine, WA at 9 am on Friday morning while me and 5 other ladies made up van 2. Our van started our journey in Bellingham, WA.

I got up bright and early to crimp my hair, only to have it get completely ruined by the rain. My very 80s do took on a very wet rat look after a while but it was fun while it lasted.

20120724-233911.jpg

After we made it up to Bellingham, we scoped out the competition. It didn’t take long before we saw one of the more creepy vans. The team was called “Stranger Danger” and they handed out candy to people.

20120724-234125.jpg

Totes creepy, but it made for a seriously awesome picture!

We then headed to learn about all the Ragnar rules. After going to our safety meeting, getting our bibs, and going shopping for Ragnar gear, it was time to get tatted up!

20120724-234555.jpg

Yep. We’re so hardcore.

After that, it was a waiting game until runner 6 (Meghan) came in so Jenny (our first runner) could take off. We eagerly filled the time being camera whores.

20120724-233317.jpg

[The ladies of van 2: Kim, Me, Megan, Dawn, Alanna, Jenny]

20120724-234827.jpg
[Kim, Alanna, Dawn, Me, Megan, and Tyler (our kick ass driver)]

Before we knew it, it was time for Jenny to kick some ass-phalt and get van 2 started with a bang!

20120724-235313.jpg
[The handoff of the orange slap bracelet!]

Our van kicked ass when it came to cheering. We would drive a mile or so down the road, cheer our runner on, and repeat until it was time to make our way to the exchange. This helped SO much mentally as a runner and it was SO much fun as a spectator.

Before I knew it, it was my turn to get my first outfit on and get my run on.

20120724-235646.jpg

My first leg was 3.1 miles on a long stretch of road on the Skagit Speedway in Burlington. There were some rolling hills that I wasn’t expecting for this leg but overall, I felt STRONG. The rain had subsided too which made my run about 50 times more enjoyable. I tried to start out conservatively and pick up speed at the end. The final result was 3.2 miles in 33:30. I’ll take it!

20120725-000028.jpg
[The orange slap bracelet handoff!]

Immediately after running, I took a baby wipe shower and got my comfy clothes on. I called this look my “old man attire.” Goofy looking or not, compression socks and Toms are the way to go with Relays!

20120725-000304.jpg

Next up: When gummy bears attack, nights runs, and tramp stamps.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Ragnar Recap Part 1: Creepers, Camera Whores, and Compression. Oh My!

  1. runninghaiku

    Were you runner 10? Anymore Ragnars in your future? Ragnar is my favorite race every year!

  2. Great pictures Stacie! I have no shame and wear my Toms with everything so I think that you look fabulous. 🙂

  3. Only you would crimp your hair before running a race!! 🙂 that is so adorable- stupid rain for ruining it! Can’t wait to read the rest!

  4. Samantha

    Love the 80’s theme! I’m totally a sucker for 80’s gear!! ❤

Leave a Reply

