Lake Union 10k Race Recap

Well, ladies and gents… Guess what happens when you only run twice the whole month prior to running a 10k…

You run REALLY slow.

Final time: 6.2 miles in 1:13:55

SHOCKER.

Anyways, let me back up to the seriously awesome parts…

Sunday morning, I woke up from a DEEP sleep to a screeching alarm. I had no idea what the heck it was going off for. About 2 minutes later, I realized IT IS RACE DAY!!!! Queue excitement.

I did my standard pre-race rituals and headed out the door all decked out in my neon. NuunKOTB fo lyfe. Word.

I got to Lake Union, found a parking spot, hit up the port-o-johns and still had an hour to spare. Not long after, I saw my NuunKOTB ladies.

20120821-213952.jpg

[Lauren, Megan, Me, and Meghan pre-race]

We chatted a bit and then Dawn joined us. Before we knew it, it was time to get our race on.

20120821-214232.jpg

There were a lot more people at this race than I was expecting. There ended up being over 1,000 finishers. It was great seeing such an awesome turnout considering proceeds went to Girls on the Run.

Anywhooo…

We started running and I felt pretty dang good for such a small amount of training (aka ZERO). I was going at a comfortably hard pace around 10:30-11 min miles for the first 3 miles or so. Right about that point is when my body said WTF are you doing to me?!?!

It felt pretty lame knowing I had lost so much endurance in such a short amount of time but I just couldn’t get my body to handle that pace. So I slowed. A lot. At that point, I just decided to really take in the scenery.

The course was one loop around lake union. There were a lot more hills than I was expecting but there were some great downhills to make up time. A pretty major bonus is that my back didn’t hurt me on any of the uphill climbs!! Thank goodness!!

Funny thing… I hadn’t charged my Garmin since Ragnar. At mile 2 it beeped that the battery was low. It actually ended up lasting the whole race. I thought I was going to be garminless at mile 3.

There was a pretty fantastic downhill and flat path to the finish. As I came around the corner, I saw my NuunKOTB ladies there cheering me on. That put a huge smile on my face.

20120821-215413.jpg

[Megan, Lauren, Me, and Dawn post race]

So, it wasn’t the most amazing race in the world, but since it was my first 10k, I got an automatic PR that I have big plans to crush in the future. Would I do it again? Absolutely. Proceeds went to a great cause, I got to see running buds, and there were some gorgeous views. You can’t beat starting your Sunday out like that.

Goodness I love running… Even when it beats me up, it still makes me want to come back for more.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Lake Union 10k Race Recap

  1. Sweet. I love that you ran for all the right reasons…not for time, but for the scenery, the camaraderie, the cause, all of it. With an experience like that, how could you not love running?

  2. Your slow is my fast. πŸ™‚ Glad you had a fun time with some friends..

    • Lol the word slow is so funny because it is completely different for each person. And hey, it is a hell of a lot better to be getting out there and going ‘slow’ than to not do it at all! Keep up the hard work! πŸ™‚

  3. Congrats on finishing the race! I am doing a 10k this weekend and haven’t run anything over 6-7km in a long time! Nervous for how this is going to turn out

  4. Great job lady! I was great to hang out with you over dinner and 10K racing!!

  5. Great job! Sounds like a fun race:)

  6. Great job Stacie! I always panic when my garmin beeps that the battery is low, but even when it does it is still usually good for a couple of hours. At least mine has been!

Leave a Reply

