On Dublin Street

On Friday I mentioned that I was reading my 70th book of the year. I finished it this weekend and holy Moses it is my favorite book of the year. Like, by far. So, what is this book?

20120910-213605.jpg

On Dublin Street by Samantha Young. Go buy it. Go buy it now.

Description from Amazon:

Four years ago, Jocelyn Butler left her tragic past behind in the States and started over in Edinburgh. Burying the grief, ignoring her demons, and forging ahead without any real attachments has worked well for her so far but when Joss moves into a fantastic apartment on Dublin Street, her carefully guarded world is shaken to its core by her new roommate’s sexy older brother. Braden Carmichael is a man who always gets what he wants. And what he wants is Jocelyn in his bed. Knowing how skittish Joss is concerning any kind of relationship, Braden proposes a sexual arrangement that should satisfy the intense attraction between them without it developing into anything ‘more’. An intrigued Jocelyn agrees, completely unprepared for the Scotsman and his single-minded determination to strip the stubborn young woman bare…to the very soul. Contains strong adult content. For readers ages 18+ only.

Wow. This book was just… WOW. I was so incredibly impressed with how well the characters were developed. I felt so invested in not only the main characters, but the secondary characters as well. I think that is a rare feat that Samantha Young knocked out of the park. This book was filled with so much emotion. I laughed out loud and I cried (which has only happened to me a couple times while reading).

The main character Joss is so SO broken after many unfortunate events in her life. I just wanted to reach into the book and give her a hug. The hunka hunka piece of man meat that is Braden Carmichael gets her. He just straight up knows what she needs more than she does. Together, they make this beautifully broken mess that you can’t help but root for. Plus, it doesn’t hurt that they make one HOTT couple. 😉

I don’t know if I am doing this book justice. All I know is that I have now read 71 books this year, but I am going to be rereading this one. Like, now. I seriously can’t wait to read more from this up-and-coming author.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “On Dublin Street

  1. I completely trust your judgment with books, as we have similar tastes and you have done a fabulous job with recommendations so far, so I just downloaded On Dublin street to my kindle, and even with the first few pages I am incredibly intrigued and want to read more! I am so happy I will be flying to Vegas tomorrow and will have adequate time to read while there. The hubby may be surprised by some of my “appetites” while we are on vacation lol

  2. I don’t know that I can read an adult book with my son’s name as one of the characters — so I’ll just take your word for it and recommend it for others 🙂

  3. Going to see if I can find it tonight! I love when people rave about a book. Makes me want to read it even more!

Leave a Reply

