Push-ups and Intervals and Crunches, OH MY!

Happy Monday folks! Oxymoron? Definitely.

What a weekend!

Friday night, hubs and I had our usual pizza and beer Friday, except I decided to save some calories and skip the beer. I know, I know… Who am I and what have I done with skippinginseattle?! It was a fab night. We watched True Blood season 4 on Netflix (yes, I’m behind and yes, I still can’t stand Tara) and lounged around. Perfect way to end a looooong week.

Saturday, hubs and I finally got to celebrate our anniversary! I made reservations a week in advance at an amazing local steak joint and we still weren’t able to get in until 9pm. SO worth eating late. Metropolitan Grill has some of the best steak in town! I also got extremely spoiled by hubs. He got me the most gorgeous roses. Such a sweet boy.

20121014-224251.jpg

Before we headed out to eat, hubs and I decided to work for our dinner. He kicked booty on the bike while I ran an easy 4 miles. I had no pacing in mind, just ran by feel. We definitely earned our meal!

Then on Sunday, I decided to get on another “I wanna be fast” kick and came up with a new plan to increase my speed. I downloaded the free C25K app on my phone. I know, I know… “But Stacie, you can already run 3 miles.” Yes, yes I can but I want to run those 3 miles faster. I decided to give this app a go since so many people have had luck with the C25k program.

20121014-225106.jpg

I decided to start on week 1 day 3 (because my friend already started and I want to follow along with her). I also modified the program a bit because it was slightly too easy even with increasing my speed.

It called for 5 min warm up, 60 sec jog followed by 90 sec walk for 20 min, then 5 min cool down. Instead I did: 5 min warm up, 90 sec run @ 6.5 mph minimum, 60 sec jog recovery (walk if absolutely necessary), 5 min cool down.

It. Was. Fabulous.

I got so dang sweaty. I ended up doing 2.75 miles in 30 minutes. That included the 10 minutes of warming up and cooling down. Oh yes, it was fab. I decided to finish up the 5k for good measure and did 3.1 miles in 33:20.

Then I decided my arms need some serious work, so it’s time for me to get back on the hundred push-ups bandwagon. Luckily, there’s now an app for that…

20121014-230125.jpg

Week 1 Day 1 consisted of 5 sets of push-ups. 11 the first set, 13 the 2nd, 8 the 3rd and 4th, and 10 the 5th for a grand total of 50 push-ups. Oh yeah, feel the burn. I love this program. It seriously works!!!

After my push-ups, I did my ab work and called it a night!

All in all, an absolutely fab weekend.

Have you ever done C25K?

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Push-ups and Intervals and Crunches, OH MY!

  1. Sounds like a great weekend! How was the Metropolitan Grill? I need a good steak joint in seattle for when I get a hankering!

  2. Glad that you had such a yummy dinner. I love steak! Never done a C25K program, good luck!

    Ps- isn’t it crazy how there is an app for everything?!

  3. Ugh I so need to get my butt moving on the C25k program!! Great run and greAt time girlfriend!
    What push up app is that?!?

  4. I have not done a c25k program but I know that a lot of people love them. If it makes you speedy then I may have to give it a try too!

    Mmmm, steak….

Leave a Reply

