Mantras and new flava flav!

I have so much to share with you guys! So, word of warning, this is probably going to be a bunch if word vomit.

As a lot of you know, I got the plague (okay, not really the plague, but close enough) after Christmas time. It left me completely bed ridden for over a week. Even after I could function, my energy wasn’t back, I had a severe case of man voice, and a horrible cough. Jump forward 3 weeks…

I FINALLY RAN WITHOUT DYING FROM COUGHING!!!!

Last night, I finally braved my ‘mill. Granted, it was a super slow 2.25 miles but I did it. You have no idea how happy this makes me. Realistically, I probably could have started running again last week but my cough was still flipping annoying with any physical exertion, so I stuck to spin and strength training instead. The whole time I lusted after the cardio high that I only get from running…. And now, that high is mine once again! Wooooo!!!

Then tonight, I got together with my Fly Girls Lauren and Megan for Power Hour at Fly Wheel. The class was one hour long instead of the usual 45 minutes, hence the name power hour. The instructor was Barbara and holy moly she is no joke. LOVED this class.

Barbara had the most fantastic phrases to keep us motivated. For some reason, they really worked for me today. One of my favorites was:

If you aren’t challenging yourself, you aren’t changing yourself.

For some reason I just loved this quote. I need to remind myself this more often. Some workouts are going to be hard and some workouts are going to suck, but pushing through the difficult workouts is how we make changes happen. It is how we achieve our goals. It is how we realize our true potential.

Woooo that got a little deep.

One other ultra amazing thing that happened at spin, is that Megan brought Lauren and me samples of THE BRAND NEW NUUN FLAVORS!!!! They aren’t released yet, but goodness gracious, I hope they are soon. I tried Cherry Limeaid during spin. It is pure love. It actually has a little bit of caffeine in it which is always a bonus in my eyes. The more I drank it, the more I wanted to chug it, bathe in it, and insert an IV full of it. So friggin delicious.

20130124-225247.jpg

The other two new flavors that I get to try are Watermelon (!!!!) and Lemonade!!! I will try one of them this weekend and report back.

20130124-225319.jpg
[The contraband]

What mantra helps push you through tough workouts?

What Nuun flavor are you most excited for?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Mantras and new flava flav!

  1. Cherry limeade sounds super good. As well as lemon.

  2. Glad to hear that you are finally feeling better and back working out! I’ve never tried Nuun, but really want to

  3. Yum!! Those all sound so good!! I want to find a spin class close to me! Sounds like so much fun!

  4. I am so excited for the watermelon Nuun flavor. You lucky duck!

Leave a Reply

