I be gettin fat digits yo

No, really. I got fat digits.

20130320-221346.jpg

Cousie D and I went on a walk last night around my neighborhood. It was a fantastic walk but it was a liiiiiittle chilly. I thought I dressed warm enough. I had long pants on plus layers and a wind breaker. I felt warm enough the whole time, but once we got back to the house, my hands felt differently.

When we got back, my hands turned super bright red and they were ice cold. I didn’t think much of it since we were just outside in the cold. I ran them under some warm water to try to revive them. A little bit later they were swelling up like crazy. Then my skin in between my knuckles turned white while the rest of my hand was bright red. Not long after, my knuckles started turning purple. What the hell, right?!

I had my rings on and could not get them off for the life of me. Seriously… Look at these phalanges. They are freaking sausages!

20130320-223547.jpg

Of course, we started googling Raynaud’s Syndrome… And of course that meant my hands were going to start looking like this:

20130320-225250.jpg

Thank you, google images, for absolutely terrifying the living day lights out of me. It reminds me of this someecard:

20130320-235919.jpg

The swelling has gone down for the most part today but they are still definitely puffy. I was able to finally get my rings off last night. It hurt like hell to get them off, but hubs had me terrified that I was going to have to either get my finger amputated or get my rings cut off. No, we aren’t drama queens in this household at all. I must have some crazy circulation issues or something. I have never had something like this happen before!

Note to self: WEAR MITTENS!

What is the weirdest thing that has happened to your body?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “I be gettin fat digits yo

  1. I have a mild case of Raynauds. It happens at very distinct times, and it is so uncomfortable! One of the weirdest things that every happened to me while working out though, was in college. I was running on the TM at the gym and all of a sudden, my breathing was restricted, i started to get really itchy and splotchy red all over. I was wheezing. Turns out it was a reaction to the increased temperature in my body by running. So strange. I blame it on treadmill running! šŸ™‚

  2. I have Raynauds (and this has happened to me before as well!) and one thing that I did NOT expect it to effect was my, umm. nipples. Lol. I never noticed until breastfeeding B, but let’s just say the pain is excruciating. I now know how to deal with it (pressure and heat), but it was not a fun leaning experience.

Leave a Reply

