United We Stand

I think we all experienced a plethora of emotions today because of what happened in Boston.

I spent most of the afternoon at work staring at the TV in absolute shock and horror. I could not believe that some fuckhead would do this to ANYONE let alone some of the most amazingly inspirational athletes in the world. Many of these men and women were running in their dream race; the big Kahuna of races. They logged countless hours and miles into their training books in preparation. They poured all of their blood, sweat and tears into an event that would last only a few hours.

At first I was sad, but I quickly became outraged that someone could do something so outrageous. An innocent 8 year old child was killed for Christ’s sake. Who the hell does that?!

But then, you see things like this and instantly your faith in humanity is restored:

Google Doc for Boston

You see, the running community is strong, resilient, and united. If one person falls, the running community is there to help pick them up, both figuratively and literally. Twitter was absolutely overflowing with sentiments of putting up a united front. I mean, seriously check these out…

20130415-183853.jpg

20130415-183900.jpg

20130415-183906.jpg

I believe wholeheartedly that the world is inherently good. The outpouring of love and support on social media sites prove that. Unfortunately there are some sick fucks out there that make us forget that fact every once in a while, but people are good. And runners? Oh good lord what an amazing bunch. I am so proud and honored to associate myself with every one of you. I am humbled by the generous and selfless hearts that were out there today. Whether on the road or on the sidelines, thank you for being you.

It is spreading around that everyone should wear race shirts tomorrow in honor of Boston. Wear them proud, people. They can’t take our passion away. They’ve only made us stronger.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “United We Stand

  1. Pensive Pumpkin

    Such a tragedy today. My heart is broken. Will wear a race shirt tomorrow. Beautiful post.

    Pensive

    > >

  2. So sad, I cried all afternoon. I can’t even watch the news anymore. My hear breaks for everyone. Boston is supposed to be one of the happiest moments that a runner can experience. My momma called me today saying that she thanked God all afternoon that I had gotten injured so that I wasn’t there. My injury was truly a blessing in disguise. 😦 😦 😦

    I ran hard for everyone at Boston today and I am wearing my Boston Finisher’s jacket everywhere I go. So proud to be apart of this wonderful running family.

    • God… Seriously such a blessing you weren’t there. There were already way too many people we knew running it. The whole event seriously makes me want to gets faster and BQ one day. I don’t care if it takes me til I’m 80, one day, I will run Boston!

  3. Bethany

    I’m a Bostonian and thank you for your post. All of my family and friends are safe. Spectators gave my friends that were stopped on the race clothes, food and rides home. Boston is a great city. And the running community will not let this deter us from any events.

  4. You know what everything I read online seems to focus on about today? How quickly people jumped in to help. I think that really says something. It doesn’t make this day better of course. What happened is a terrible, horrible, awful thing that does not make any sense. But I like that we “find the helpers”.

    I can’t wear a race shirt to work, but I’ll be wearing yellow and blue.

    • I totally agree. It is amazing that we were able to look for the good among a sea of tragedy. I think that is such a rarity that the running community possesses. Such an amazing group of people. 🙂

Leave a Reply

